New laws for the mutual recognition of penalty points

Minister for Transport, Tourism & Sport Leo Varadkar has agreed a detailed timetable with his counterparts in Northern Ireland to bring in new laws for the mutual recognition of penalty points in both jurisdictions.

The Ministers agreed the detailed timetable for the drafting, passage and enactment of parallel legislation, north and south, by 31st December 2014 to allow the mutual recognition of penalty points across Ireland.

The timetable was agreed at today’s North South Ministerial Council Transport Meeting in Armagh, where Minister Varadkar met with the Minister for Regional Development, Danny Kennedy MLA, and the Minister of the Environment, Alex Attwood MLA.

Minister Varadkar also invited Ministers Attwood and Kennedy to take part in road safety and transport meetings being held as part of Ireland’s Presidency of the European Union in 2013. A number of high-level events will bring senior officials, agencies, interest and industry groups from across Europe to Ireland during the Presidency, including events relating to road safety and intelligent transport systems.

Minister Varadkar said: ‘We made real progress on the mutual recognition of penalty points, and have agreed on a detailed timeline. I look forward to a time when it won’t be possible to escape penalty points simply by crossing the border.”

“This level of co-operation between the two jurisdictions is very important. Even though we live in two separate jurisdictions, new EU laws are regularly introduced which affect citizens north and south in the same way. For this reason it makes sense for us to work with our equivalent Departments in the North on important issues that affect us, such as trans-European networks for transport, and new EU laws on airport noise levels and landing slots.”