vw-2 bmw-a1 nat_auto woodford_ origo-2 finol autoparts-2 serfac270514a

Cahill and Czapnik dominate loose autocross

Sean Cahill (JB Buggy) won the 2016 Munster Autocross Championship on the last round of the series. Cahill earlier lifted the National Loose Autocross (Buggy) Championship and the Wexfordman is the first driver to win both championships in the same year.

Sean Cahill races into the history books in his JB Buggy Pic by Pablo Photography

In the National series Cahill won every round and in Munster he claimed victory in 5 rounds and he amassed 135 points. Runner up in Munster was Paul O’Driscoll (Semog Buggy) who tied with Whitby Moynan (Toyota Special) on 116 points, but O’ Driscoll scooped second as his score on the first event was better than Moynan. Fourth overall was claimed by Fermoy based Polish driver Lukasz Czapnik (Impreza). However Czapnik will remember 2016 as the year he was the best saloon driver in Munster and National autocross, another remarkable autocross double. West Limerick drivers Eddie Walsh (Impreza) and William Meade (Nova) were second and third saloons home.

2016 Review

2016 was a great year for Munster Autocross, with an increase in registered competitors, now standing at 44. As ever the competition was fierce as proven with the championship going down to the wire on the last round. All nine rounds of the championship were held as planned and the autocross committee are grateful for the efforts of the clubs and their COCs and marshals. The clubs who participated are :Skibbereen (2 races), Munster, Clare, Killarney, Imokilly, Birr, Limerick and Cork. TheBirr Loose autocross was voted the best event in the Munster Autocross while the Wexford event was voted the best loose autocross in the National championship.

2017 Preview
Motorsport in Ireland faces a 25% increase in insurance levy for 2017.Some clubs may pass the new levy on to competitors by way of increased entry fees.
Better news for the current year will see a ten round Munster Autocross Championship (8 rounds to count). The series kicks off as usual with Skibbereen (19th Feb) and it will be followed by a brace of races hosted by the Clare MC on March 5th and May 21st. It is back to county Cork for the next couple with Munster CC on June 11th and the second Skib race on July 9th. Killarney MC will host the first grass autocross on Aug 6th followed as usual by Imokilly Oct 15th Definitely the business end of the championship now, but there is a trio of gravel events with Birr Nov 19th, Limerick Dec 10th and finally Cork MC on Dec 27th.
The 2017 Munster Autocross is supported by Daly Motor Services, Killarney, O’Shea Bus Hire, Barrett International Transport and Pablo Photography

Pablo Curylo captures his fellow Pole Lukasz Czapnik en route to the saloon double.